Site hosted by Build your free website today!
:: Collegiate Calendar
:: Application Form
:: About Scholarships

Three years ago, in 2003, the vision of Batangas State University to serve the people of Lemery and the nearby municipalities was achieved. It was when Hon. Raul B. Bendaña, Municipal Mayor of Lemery, agreed to the establishment of BSU-Lemery Campus through “OPLAN-Karunungan at Kaalaman” under his program “Responsableng Balikat ng Bayan, Oplan Pang-Kaunlaran (RBB-OK KA!)”.

Hence, on May 23, 2003, the colorful celebration for the formal signing of the Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) setting-up BSU-Lemery Campus located at Gov. FLMNHS was held and was witnessed by the town’s people of Lemery and other municipalities. The MOA was signed by RBB, representing the Local Government of Lemery, and Dr. Ernesto de Chavez, University President.

There was a motorcade introducing BSU to the community and announcing its formal opening in that school year. Dr. Ernesto de Chavez, representatives from San Luis & Sta. Teresita, barangay officials, Mr. Luis Mendoza, Principal of GFLMNHS, Mr. Ben Manalo, Department Head of THE, teachers and students headed the procession. A short program followed to emphasize the importance of having a university in the municipality of Lemery.

After the colorful publicity, the enrollment for SY 2003-2004 was officially opened to prospective students. The initial courses offered were Bachelor of Industrial Technology major in Electrical, Electronics and Computer Engineering Technology, BS General Engineering and BS Computer Science. Many people were expected to patronize the campus, because of its science and technology-related courses, its 50% discount tuition fee scheme as well as its evening class session.

In its initial opening, four faculty members were assigned in full-time basis and one in part-time basis to man the operation of the campus. They were: Eng’r. Normelito de Villa – Campus Coordinator; Ms. Marife Maligaya - ;Mr. Siegfried Magpile; and Ms. Margarita Marasigan; and Mrs. Heidi Briones, respectively. GFLMNHS allotted five rooms for the university. The enrollment period for the first semester listed 129 students in the pioneer batch. Likewise, the PTSCA of Lemery Campus was also organized immediately.

During the second semester, there were additional part-time instructors from Balayan Campus due to the resignation of Mr. S. Magpile. They were Mrs. Marlyn Espeña and Ms. Dorothy Noche.

One year has passed and SY 2004-2005 registered a total of 190 students. The faculty also doubled in number. Added to the faculty members were: Mr. Domingo Baler, Ms. Cornelia Maglunog, Ms. Leonor Panganiban, Mr. Dangie Cadacio, and Mr. Alex Castillo.

Since, the five (5) allotted classrooms were no longer enough to accommodate all the students, classes were sometimes held in kiosks. Nevertheless, despite this insufficiency, the faculty did their best to teach the students things that they should learn. In fact, some students represented the campus in joining various extra-curricular activities and competitions like essay writing, speech and dance competitions.


© Copyright 2008. BSU-Lemery. All Rights Reserved.
Website developed by ICT-BSU Lemery